Zuishin-in Temple

Zuishin-in temple was established by priest Ningai who received approval and land from the emperor in 991. The temple used to be called "Madara-ji", after "Mandala which is a type Buddhist tapestry. Ningai had a dream about his deceased mother being reincarnated in a cow. He found the cow, and when it

Kaju-ji Temple

Kajū-ji (勧修寺 Kajū-ji), also sometimes spelled "Kwajū-ji" or "Kanshu-ji, is a Shingon Buddhist temple in Yamashina-ku, Kyoto, Japan. A temple has existed on this site from as early as 900 AD. Kajū-ji, known familiarly as "Kikki-san," was founded by Emperor Daigo. This site is said to have been chosen because the

Oishi Shrine

Oishi Shrine in Yamashina is dedicated to Ōishi Kuranosuke Yoshio, leader of the famous 47 Ronin. Most interesting was the small museum containing many documents and illustrations related to the 47 Ronin story. Oishi Shrine is set at the foot of the hills between Yamashina and Fushimi, and is surrounded by lush

Himukai Daijingu Shrine

Located in the north of Keage is a hidden power spot called Himukai Daijingu Shrine. It's a part of Higashiyama mountainous area. Since the shrine is connected to Ise Jungu Shrie in Wakayama Prefecture. it is also called “the Kyoto Ise” by the locals. The shrine is also known as the

Gangyo-ji Temple

Gangyō-ji (元慶寺 Gangyō-ji) is a Buddhist temple in Kyoto, founded by the priest Henjō. The Emperor Kōkō endowed the temple and the emperor Kazan abdicated in this temple. Gangyō-ji was founded in the early Heian period. 877 (Gangyō 1): The temple is founded, and it takes its name from the era (nengō) in

Zuiko-in Temple

Zuikô-in was a temple in Kyoto associated with the Asano clan of Akô han in Harima province. The temple was founded in 1613 by Yamazaki Samanosuke Iemori, lord of Wakasa castle (in what is today Tottori prefecture), along with Takuho Sôrin Oshô of Daitoku-ji, on the former site of the mansion